State ladder: apprentice → journeyman → master
Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL) — Plumbing runs plumbing licensing in Utah. Below: the exact ladder, the transfer doors into Utah from all 50 states, the renewal and lapse lines, and the master-of-record rule for opening a company — every figure from the board's own publications, checked October 22, 2026.
State ladder: apprentice → journeyman → master Checked in part Checked October 22, 2026
Checked in part. Checked 2026-10-22 against Utah Admin. Code R156-55c (rules.utah.gov) and the DOPL fee schedule and endorsement pages. Hours/classroom, master experience and DOPL application/renewal fees are primary-confirmed. DOPL publishes its journeyman and master endorsement eligibility as interactive state maps rather than a text list, so no state names are asserted for reciprocity. Exam fees (collected by the exam vendor) and the lapsed-license reinstatement window were not stated on the primary pages fetched, so they are null.
| The ladder | Utah |
|---|---|
| Journeyman credential | Journeyman Plumber |
| Total hours required | 8,000 |
| Classroom hours | 576 |
| Apprentice registration | Required — hours count only while registered |
| Exam | ProV — Utah plumber theory and practical exams; exam fees are collected by the exam vendor and were not listed on the DOPL fee schedule fetched 2026-10-22, so fee is null. DOPL application fee for all plumber classifications is $110 (DOPL fee schedule). |
| License fee | $110 |
| Renewal | Every 2 years |
| Continuing education | 12 hours per 2-year cycle, 8 of them core (R156-55c-304) |
| Master credential | Master Plumber |
Registration, in the board’s terms: All experience must be earned while licensed as an Apprentice Plumber. The no-school route doubles the requirement to 16,000 hours (8 years) as a licensed apprentice.
Master Plumber: As a licensed Journeyman Plumber: at least 4,000 hours (2 years) of work experience AND at least 4,000 hours (2 years) of supervisory experience — OR hold an associate of applied science (or similar CHEA-recognized) degree and have at least 2,000 hours (1 year) of supervisory experience as a licensed Journeyman Plumber (R156-55c). Pass the master law/rule and practical requirements.
DOPL application fee is $110 and renewal $68 for all plumber classifications (DOPL fee schedule). Exam fee not confirmed from a primary source — see partialNote. Utah also licenses Residential Master and Residential Journeyman levels.
A lapsed-license reinstatement window was not stated on the DOPL plumbing pages fetched 2026-10-22, so no window is asserted.
Reinstatement: Not confirmed from a primary source checked 2026-10-22 (DOPL general renewal rules provide a short late-renewal period, after which a new application is required — verify with DOPL before relying on a date).
Past the line: Not confirmed from a primary source checked 2026-10-22.
Utah endorses journeyman licenses from: none. Utah has NO reciprocity agreements; it licenses by endorsement. DOPL publishes separate Journeyman Plumber Endorsement and Master Plumber Endorsement maps: if your state shows an equivalent license on the map you may apply by endorsement with a Verification of Licensure from your state board; if it shows no equivalent, you must meet Utah's full requirements and exam. Because the maps are interactive and were not readable as text, accepts is left empty rather than naming states that could not be verified.
| Licensed in | Door into Utah | |
|---|---|---|
| Alabama | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Alaska | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Arizona | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Arkansas | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| California | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Colorado | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Connecticut | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Delaware | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| District of Columbia | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Florida | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Georgia | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Hawaii | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Idaho | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Illinois | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Indiana | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Iowa | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Kansas | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Kentucky | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Louisiana | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Maine | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Maryland | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Massachusetts | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Michigan | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Minnesota | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Mississippi | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Missouri | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Montana | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Nebraska | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Nevada | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| New Hampshire | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| New Jersey | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| New Mexico | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| New York | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| North Carolina | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| North Dakota | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Ohio | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Oklahoma | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Oregon | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Pennsylvania | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Rhode Island | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| South Carolina | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| South Dakota | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Tennessee | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Texas | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Vermont | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Virginia | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Washington | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| West Virginia | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Wisconsin | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Wyoming | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
Included in the $49 PlumberLicenseCheck Kit
One payment. Yours to keep. The checkers above stay free either way.
The seat: Qualifier — DOPL General Plumbing Contractor license. Doing plumbing as a business requires a separate DOPL contractor license (General Plumbing Contractor) in addition to the individual journeyman/master license; the contractor application fee is $175 with $128 renewal on the DOPL fee schedule. The business's qualifier must be a licensed plumber at the level for the work contracted.
Utah licenses the individual (apprentice / journeyman / residential journeyman / master / residential master) and the contracting business separately — holding a master license alone does not authorize contracting with the public without the contractor license.
Run the owner gate for your situation →
Rules as published by Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL) — Plumbing and the statutes it administers, checked October 22, 2026. Board: https://commerce.utah.gov/dopl/plumbing/