State ladder: apprentice → journeyman → master

Nevada plumber license: requirements, reciprocity & renewal

Nevada Board of Plumbing Examiners (NBOPE) — journeyman/master certification administered by the National Inspection Testing and Certification Corporation (NITC); contracting licensed separately by the Nevada State Contractors Board runs plumbing licensing in Nevada. Below: the exact ladder, the transfer doors into Nevada from all 50 states, the renewal and lapse lines, and the master-of-record rule for opening a company — every figure from the board's own publications, checked October 22, 2026.

State ladder: apprentice → journeyman → master Checked in part Checked October 22, 2026

Checked in part. Experience standards and the current exam fee/format are taken from the NBOPE's own certification application (Form 850-06, Rev. 02-12-26, administered by NITC) fetched on 2026-10-22. The certification (license) fee, the renewal fee, any lapse/reinstatement window and any reciprocity provision were NOT stated in that primary document and secondary sources conflict sharply on renewal cost ($40 vs $600), so those figures are null and the state is marked partial.

The ladderNevada
Journeyman credentialJourneyman Plumber (NBOPE Certification)
Total hours required8,000
Classroom hoursnot published
Apprentice registrationNot required by the state
ExamNITC for the Nevada Board of Plumbing Examiners (computer exams also offered at Prometric test centers) · $250 — Current NBOPE application (Rev. 02-12-26): the certification exam is based on the 2024 Uniform Plumbing Code — 50 open-book + 100 closed-book questions. Cost is $250 by computer or paper; taking the computer exam at a Prometric Test Center costs an additional $90 ($340 total). Older secondary guides citing $95/$140 exam fees are stale against the current Board form.
License feeNot published
RenewalEvery 2 years
Continuing educationNot stated in the NBOPE certification application fetched 2026-10-22
Master credentialMaster Plumber (NBOPE Certification)

How you qualify in Nevada

Registration, in the board’s terms: Nevada does not license/register apprentices at state level. The NBOPE standard is experience-based: a minimum of 4 years in a state-registered, accredited apprenticeship program OR 8,000 hours of substantiated experience in the plumbing trade, proven by a notarized Affidavit of Experience from a current/previous plumbing contractor employer (W-2s and employer letters on letterhead are accepted alternatives). The application form sets no separate classroom-hour total beyond the registered-apprenticeship route, so classroomHours is null — the '320 classroom hours' figure in secondary guides is not in the Board's current application.

Run my Nevada numbers in the eligibility checker

The master license in Nevada

Master Plumber (NBOPE Certification): The journeyman base (4 years in a state-registered accredited apprenticeship OR 8,000 hours of substantiated plumbing-trade experience) PLUS 1 year / 2,000 hours of maintaining a current Nevada Journeyman Certification + pass the NBOPE master plumber exam (same 2024 UPC 50 open-book + 100 closed-book format, $250 / $340 Prometric).

The 2,000 journeyman hours must be worked while holding the Nevada journeyman certification itself — an out-of-state journeyman license does not substitute on the face of the Board's application.

Master exam fee: $250

Renewal & lapse in Nevada

Certification is renewed on a 2-year cycle, but no lapse/reinstatement window is stated in the NBOPE application materials fetched on 2026-10-22.

Reinstatement: Not confirmed on a primary source in this batch.

Past the line: Not confirmed on a primary source in this batch — verify with NBOPE/NITC before publication.

Expired? Run the renewal checker with your month count →

Plumbing license reciprocity into Nevada

Nevada endorses journeyman licenses from: none. No reciprocity or endorsement provision appears in the NBOPE certification application: every journeyman/master candidate must document the experience standard and pass the Nevada (2024 UPC) certification examination. accepts is empty; if NBOPE publishes a separate endorsement policy it was not on a primary source fetched for this batch (state marked partial for this reason as well).

Licensed inDoor into Nevada
AlabamaNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
AlaskaNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
ArizonaNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
ArkansasNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
CaliforniaNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
ColoradoNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
ConnecticutNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
DelawareNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
District of ColumbiaNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
FloridaNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
GeorgiaNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
HawaiiNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
IdahoNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
IllinoisNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
IndianaNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
IowaNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
KansasNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
KentuckyNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
LouisianaNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
MaineNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
MarylandNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
MassachusettsNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
MichiganNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
MinnesotaNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
MississippiNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
MissouriNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
MontanaNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
NebraskaNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
New HampshireNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
New JerseyNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
New MexicoNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
New YorkNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
North CarolinaNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
North DakotaNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
OhioNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
OklahomaNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
OregonNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
PennsylvaniaNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
Rhode IslandNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
South CarolinaNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
South DakotaNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
TennesseeNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
TexasNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
UtahNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
VermontNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
VirginiaNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
WashingtonNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
West VirginiaNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
WisconsinNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →
WyomingNo endorsement — exam routeRun the pair →

Check your exact pair

Moving to Nevada? The Kit builds your transfer packet

Included in the $49 PlumberLicenseCheck Kit

  • The verification-letter packet a destination board asks your home board for — written for you to send
  • The document checklist in filing order, so the application is not sent back for a missing record
  • Hour-documentation templates that match how boards audit experience claims

See what's inside the Kit

One payment. Yours to keep. The checkers above stay free either way.

Opening a plumbing company in Nevada

The seat: Qualified individual / qualifying party under a Nevada State Contractors Board license (Classification C-1 plumbing and heating, or C-1D plumbing). An NBOPE journeyman/master certificate authorises the individual trade work; it does NOT authorise contracting. To pull permits and run a plumbing business you must also hold a contractor's license from the Nevada State Contractors Board (C-1, or the C-1D plumbing subclassification), which requires a qualified individual with journeyman-level experience (generally 4 years within the last 10 years), trade and Construction Management Survey (law) examinations, references, a background check and a contractor license bond scaled to the license's monetary limit.

Nevada's split authority is the trap most guides get wrong in both directions: journeyman and master plumbers ARE state-certified — by the Nevada Board of Plumbing Examiners (administered through NITC in Los Angeles/Las Vegas) — while the plumbing CONTRACTOR license (C-1/C-1D) comes from the separate Nevada State Contractors Board in Henderson/Reno. Holding only one of the two does not cover the other's work.

Run the owner gate for your situation →

Sources

Rules as published by Nevada Board of Plumbing Examiners (NBOPE) — journeyman/master certification administered by the National Inspection Testing and Certification Corporation (NITC); contracting licensed separately by the Nevada State Contractors Board and the statutes it administers, checked October 22, 2026. Board: https://nationalitc.com/files/galleries/Form_850-06_Rev_--_NBOPE_Plumber_Application.pdf